Saskatchewan construction labour force: long-term modest growth as residential, non-residential markets diverge


Ottawa – Labour force demand in Saskatchewan’s construction and maintenance industry should grow modestly by 2029, with the residential sector picking up the pace as non-residential projects are completed, according to the labour market forecast released today by BuildForce Canada.

Beginning in 2020, Saskatchewan’s residential and non-residential markets are expected to diverge, with a recovery in new residential housing construction offsetting declines in the non-residential sector. BuildForce Canada’s 2020–2029 Construction and Maintenance Looking Forward provincial report forecasts that the pace of overall employment declines is expected to stabilize in 2020–2021, bolstered by stronger exports that support moderate economic growth, and an anticipated recovery in the construction of new housing and industrial, commercial, and institutional (ICI) buildings.

“We expect a period of moderate growth to follow, with new resource-sector investments anticipated after 2021,” says Bill Ferreira, Executive Director of BuildForce Canada. “That demand is expected alongside a continued recovery in new-housing construction driven by stronger population growth.”

Overall, construction employment is expected to grow modestly by the end of the 2020–2029 scenario period, with larger gains concentrated in residential and ICI building construction.

In the non-residential sector, the completion of the Enbridge Line 3 pipeline and a decline in highway and bridge work should contribute to a modest decline in employment between 2020 and 2021. Thereafter, non-residential requirements are expected to rise by 2,400 workers (+8.6%) between 2022 and 2024, driven in part by the anticipated start of proposed major potash mine expansion and gas plant projects.

“As the decade progresses, however, non-residential employment demands will increasingly be driven by the construction of ICI buildings and maintenance work as major engineering project construction declines from peak levels,” says Ferreira.

The non-residential labour force finishes the scenario period with an additional 600 workers compared to 2019.

In the residential sector, modest gains in renovation and maintenance activity, alongside increased new-home construction, are expected to grow the residential labour force by an estimated 2,300 workers over the decade. New-housing starts are expected to recover from a record low in 2019 to 5,800 units by 2029, with growth projected to accelerate after 2021 driven by stronger overall economic growth and rising household formations.

The anticipated retirement of just over 9,100 workers dominates hiring requirements over the next decade. The availability of 9,500 new-entrant workers aged 30 or younger is projected locally. However, Saskatchewan’s ability to meet future hiring requirements of nearly 11,500 workers from the local population is dependent on limiting the outflow of skilled workers during periods of weaker growth.

“Across Canada, other provinces will be demanding the trade skills that Saskatchewan workers can supply,” says Ferreira. “The industry should be mindful about keeping the province’s workers engaged locally and ensuring that they can make the transition between non-residential and residential markets.”

The development of skilled tradespersons in the construction industry takes years, and often requires participation in a provincial apprenticeship program. More than 10,400 apprentices registered in the 16 largest construction trade programs in Saskatchewan between 2013 and 2019, with nearly 7,400 completions reported during this period. Based on current apprenticeship completion trends, several trades may be at risk of not keeping pace with retirement levels that could potentially lead to an undersupply of journeypersons in some trades by 2029. Boilermakers, carpenters, refrigeration and air conditioning mechanics, scaffolders, sheet metal workers, and welders may be at higher risk. An ongoing commitment to training and apprenticeship development will remain necessary to avoid potential future skills shortages in the industry.

Building a sustainable labour force will also require the construction and maintenance industry to increase recruitment from groups traditionally underrepresented in the current construction labour force, including women, Indigenous people, and new Canadians.

In 2019, approximately 6,300 women were employed in Saskatchewan’s construction industry. Of the total, nearly 37% worked directly on construction projects. When measured as a percentage of the overall 39,800 tradespeople employed in the industry, women accounted for only 5.7% of on-site employment.

New Canadians are also underrepresented in the province’s labour force, accounting for little more than 8% of the province’s construction workforce. Between 2020 and 2029, the province is expected to welcome more than 132,000 newcomers, making the immigrant population a key driver of labour force growth. Increasing the participation rate of both these groups would go a long way to help the industry address future labour force needs.

Saskatchewan is also home to one of the largest percentages of Indigenous construction workers in Canada, second only to Manitoba. Approximately 12% of the province’s construction labour force is made up of Indigenous people, with about 85% working directly on construction projects. Meeting future labour market needs may also require Saskatchewan’s construction industry to increase its recruitment of Indigenous workers.

BuildForce Canada is a national industry-led organization that represents all sectors of Canada’s construction industry. Its mandate is to provide accurate and timely labour market data and analysis, as well as programs and initiatives to help manage labour force requirements and build the capacity and the capability of Canada’s construction and maintenance industry. Visit www.constructionforecasts.ca.

For further information, contact Bill Ferreira, Executive Director, BuildForce Canada, at ferreira@buildforce.ca or 613-569-5552 ext. 222.

This report was produced with the support and input of a variety of provincial construction and maintenance industry stakeholders. For local industry reaction to this latest BuildForce Canada report, please contact:

Chris Guerette
CEO
Canadian Home Builders’ Association – Saskatchewan (Saskatoon)
(306) 292-8619

Dennis Perrin
Prairies Director
CLAC
587-785-1836

Warren Douglas
Executive Director
Construction Labour Relations Association – Saskatchewan
306-352-7909

Darren Swanson
Vice-Chair President of Merit Canada
Merit Canada
(306) 961-4118

Paul de Jong
President
Progressive Contractors Association of Canada
(403) 620-3781

Funded by the Government of Canada’s Sectoral Initiatives Program.

Population active de la construction de la Saskatchewan : croissance modérée à long terme tandis que les marchés résidentiel et non résidentiel divergeront


Ottawa – Selon les prévisions sur le marché du travail publiées aujourd’hui par ConstruForce Canada, les besoins en main-d’œuvre du secteur de la construction et de l’entretien de la Saskatchewan devraient augmenter légèrement d’ici 2029, le secteur résidentiel affichant une reprise à mesure que les projets non résidentiels seront achevés.

À partir de 2020, les marchés résidentiel et non résidentiel de la province divergeront, la reprise dans la construction de nouvelles habitations compensant la diminution de l’activité dans le secteur non résidentiel. D’après les prévisions du rapport provincial Regard prospectif – Construction et maintenance 2020-2029 de ConstruForce Canada, la baisse globale de l’emploi devrait se stabiliser en 2020-2021, car l’emploi sera stimulé par la hausse des exportations qui favoriseront une croissance économique modérée et une reprise anticipée dans la construction de nouvelles habitations et d’immeubles industriels, commerciaux et institutionnels (ICI).

« Une période de croissance modérée devrait suivre, compte tenu de nouveaux investissements dans le secteur des ressources naturelles prévus après 2021, affirme Bill Ferreira, directeur général de ConstruForce Canada. Outre cette demande, on s’attend à une reprise continue dans la construction de nouvelles habitations, stimulée par une croissance démographique plus forte. »

Dans l’ensemble, l’emploi dans le secteur de la construction devrait augmenter légèrement d’ici la fin de la période de prévision 2020-2029, des gains plus importants étant concentrés dans la construction résidentielle et d’immeubles ICI.

Dans le secteur non résidentiel, une légère diminution de l’emploi sera enregistrée entre 2020 et 2021, compte tenu de l’achèvement du projet de canalisation 3 d’Enbridge et d’un déclin dans les travaux liés aux autoroutes et aux ponts. Les besoins dans le secteur non résidentiel augmenteront ensuite de 2 400 travailleurs (+8,6 %) entre 2022 et 2024, cette hausse étant partiellement attribuable au démarrage prévu de grands projets proposés (usine de gaz naturel et agrandissement d’une mine de potasse).

« Cependant, à mesure que la décennie avancera, les besoins dans le secteur non résidentiel seront de plus en plus associés à la construction d’immeubles ICI et aux travaux d’entretien, car l’activité liée aux grands projets de génie civil diminuera par rapport aux sommets précédents », explique M. Ferreira.

Dans ce contexte, à la fin de la période de prévision, la population active du secteur non résidentiel comptera 600 travailleurs de plus qu’en 2019.

Dans le secteur résidentiel, des gains modérés au chapitre de l’activité de rénovation et d’entretien et une hausse dans la construction de nouvelles habitations feront augmenter la population active du secteur résidentiel de quelque 2 300 travailleurs pendant la décennie. De nouvelles mises en chantier contribueront à une reprise après de bas niveaux records en 2019, et elles atteindront les 5 800 unités d’ici 2029. La croissance devrait s’accélérer après 2021, stimulée par une croissance économique globale plus forte et par une hausse dans la formation de ménages.

Le départ à la retraite attendu d’un peu plus de 9 100 travailleurs dominera les besoins de recrutement pendant la prochaine décennie, et on prévoit l’arrivée de 9 500 nouveaux venus âgés de 30 ans ou moins dans la province. Toutefois, la capacité de la Saskatchewan à satisfaire ses besoins de recrutement futurs de quelque 11 500 travailleurs à partir de la population locale dépendra des efforts déployés pour limiter le départ de travailleurs qualifiés en période de ralentissement de la croissance.

« D’autres provinces canadiennes chercheront à attirer les travailleurs de métier qualifiés que la Saskatchewan peut fournir, poursuit M. Ferreira. Le secteur doit s’efforcer de conserver ses travailleurs et s’assurer qu’ils peuvent faire la transition entre les marchés non résidentiel et résidentiel. »

Le perfectionnement de travailleurs de métier qualifiés dans le secteur de la construction nécessite des années et exige souvent la participation à un programme d’apprentissage provincial. Plus de 10 400 apprentis se sont inscrits dans les 16 plus grands programmes de métiers en construction de la Saskatchewan entre 2013 et 2019, et près de 7 400 personnes ont terminé leur formation pendant cette période. Selon les tendances actuelles en matière d’achèvement des programmes d’apprentissage, plusieurs métiers pourraient ne pas suivre le rythme des départs à la retraite, ce qui pourrait causer une pénurie de compagnons d’ici 2029, et le risque pourrait être plus élevé pour les chaudronniers, les charpentiers-menuisiers, les mécaniciens en réfrigération et en climatisation, les monteurs d’échafaudages, les tôliers et les soudeurs. Un engagement continu en matière de formation et d’apprentissage demeurera nécessaire pour éviter d’éventuelles pénuries de compétences futures dans le secteur.

Pour constituer une main-d’œuvre durable, le secteur de la construction et de l’entretien devra aussi renforcer ses efforts de recrutement auprès de groupes traditionnellement sous représentés dans sa population active actuelle, notamment les femmes, les Autochtones et les nouveaux Canadiens.

En 2019, quelque 6 300 femmes travaillaient dans le secteur de la construction de la Saskatchewan, dont près de 37 % étaient en poste directement dans les projets de construction. Or, quand on les mesure en pourcentage de l’ensemble des 39 800 travailleurs de métier œuvrant dans le secteur, les femmes n’occupent que 5,7 % des emplois sur les chantiers.

Les nouveaux Canadiens sont aussi sous-représentés au sein de la population active de la province : en effet, ils représentent un peu plus de 8 % de la main-d’œuvre de la construction. Entre 2020 et 2029, la province devrait accueillir plus de 132 000 nouveaux arrivants, de sorte que la population immigrée sera un facteur clé de croissance de la population active. La hausse du taux de participation de ces deux groupes aiderait énormément le secteur à satisfaire ses besoins en main-d’œuvre futurs.

Par ailleurs, la Saskatchewan affiche l’un des plus importants pourcentages au Canada de travailleurs autochtones dans le secteur de la construction, seulement derrière le Manitoba. Ainsi, la population active de la construction de la province est constituée d’environ 12 % d’Autochtones, dont quelque 85 % travaillent directement sur les projets de construction. Afin de satisfaire les besoins futurs du marché du travail, le secteur de la construction de la Saskatchewan pourrait devoir recruter plus de travailleurs autochtones.

ConstruForce Canada est une organisation nationale menée par le secteur et représentant tous les marchés du secteur de la construction au Canada. Son mandat est de fournir en temps opportun de l’information exacte et des analyses sur le marché du travail, en plus d’offrir des programmes et des initiatives pour faire en sorte que la population active canadienne de la construction et de l’entretien puisse répondre à la demande, renforcer sa capacité et acquérir les compétences requises. Visitez le site www.previsionsconstruction.ca.

Renseignements : Bill Ferreira, directeur général de ConstruForce Canada, par courriel, à ferreira@construforce.ca, ou par téléphone, au 613 569-5552, poste 222.

Ce rapport a été élaboré avec le soutien et les commentaires de différents intervenants du secteur de la construction et de l’entretien de la province. Pour connaître les réactions du secteur local de la construction à la publication du plus récent rapport de ConstruForce Canada, veuillez communiquer avec les personnes suivantes :

Chris Guerette
Président-directeur général
Association canadienne des constructeurs d’habitations – Saskatchewan (Saskatoon)
306 292-8619

Dennis Perrin
Directeur, région des Prairies
CLAC
587 785-1836

Warren Douglas
Directeur général
Construction Labour Relations Association of Saskatchewan
306-352-7909

Darren Swanson
Vice-président du conseil d’administration
Merit Canada
306 961-4118

Paul de Jong
Président
Progressive Contractors Association of Canada
(403) 620-3781

Financé par le Programme d’appui aux initiatives sectorielles du gouvernement du Canada.