Construction growth in Nova Scotia on the rise


Ottawa – Construction and maintenance activity in Nova Scotia is expected to increase between 2021 and 2023, driven by strong and broad-based demand across the province’s residential and non-residential sectors. This is according to the latest labour market forecast data released today by BuildForce Canada.

BuildForce Canada’s 2021–2030 Construction and Maintenance Looking Forward report for the province forecasts sectoral employment to remain high through 2026 before receding over the latter half of the scenario period. A rise in construction-sector employment of approximately 10% – or 2,600 workers – is expected to occur over the next few years before employment recedes slightly over the latter half of the decade.

“Construction activity in Nova Scotia was only moderately hindered by the impacts of COVID-19 in 2020, and the negative effects were largely confined to the residential and commercial markets,” says BuildForce Canada Executive Director Bill Ferreira. “An anticipated recovery in the residential sector, alongside a ramp-up in requirements related to numerous major health care, educational, roadwork, and engineering projects is expected to drive a strong expansion in construction employment across 2021 and 2022.”

Over the next 10 years, Nova Scotia’s construction industry is expected to see the retirement of nearly 8,700 workers – or about 28% of its 2020 labour force. Based on historical trends, the province’s industry could attract as many as 5,875 first-time new entrants aged 30 and younger from the local population over the same period.

“Nova Scotia’s population is aging, and its construction industry faces a shortfall of about 3,900 workers over the next decade,” says Ferreira. “It’s important for the construction and maintenance industry to reach out to younger people now and position construction as a career of choice.”

The development of skilled tradespersons in the construction industry takes years, and often requires participation in a provincial apprenticeship program. New registrations in the province’s 18 largest trade programs peaked at 1,280 in 2015, resulting in an increased supply of certified workers. Registrations have fluctuated over recent years since, but have remained around 900 registrations per year.

Based on projected new registrations and completion trends, several trades were identified as potentially at risk of undertraining the number of new journeypersons required by 2030. They include bricklayers, carpenters, heavy-duty equipment technicians, industrial electricians, industrial mechanics (millwrights), mobile crane operators, roofers, steamfitter/pipefitters, and welders. An ongoing commitment to training and apprenticeship development will remain necessary to avoid potential future skills shortages in the industry.

The COVID-19 pandemic has significantly complicated apprentice registration and completion rates in Nova Scotia. Limited data collected to date suggests that the pandemic has resulted in a steep decline in new registrations relative to employment. It has also imposed significant obstacles to the in-school delivery of training, testing, and certification. These impacts are likely to reduce the near-term numbers of new certified workers.

Building a sustainable and diverse labour force will require the construction and maintenance industry to increase recruitment from groups traditionally underrepresented in the current construction labour force, including women, Indigenous people, and new Canadians.

In 2020, there were approximately 3,650 women employed in Nova Scotia’s construction industry, of which 26% worked directly on construction projects. Of the 27,400 tradespeople employed in the industry, women made up only 3.5% of the total. Indigenous people accounted for approximately 5% of the total labour force in Atlantic Canada, which is equal to their share in the construction labour force. With about 81% of the industry’s Indigenous workers active in on-site construction, there could be further scope to increase the participation of Indigenous people in the construction trades. Increasing the participation rate of women and Indigenous people would go a long way to help the industry address its future labour force needs.

New Canadians currently comprise approximately 3.5% of Nova Scotia’s construction labour force. As provincial demographics point to declines in the number of younger workers available to enter the provincial labour force in the coming years, immigration will play an increasingly important role in the development of the province’s future workforce. Over the coming decade, the province is expected to welcome an average of 8,000 newcomers every year. This will make the immigrant population an important future source of labour force growth. Increasing the participation of new Canadians in the industry will be important to ensure the construction labour force remains adequate to the needs of the economy.

BuildForce Canada is a national industry-led organization that represents all sectors of Canada’s construction industry. Its mandate is to provide accurate and timely labour market data and analysis, as well as programs and initiatives to help manage labour force requirements and build the capacity and capability of Canada’s construction and maintenance industry. Visit www.constructionforecasts.ca.

For further information, contact Bill Ferreira, Executive Director, BuildForce Canada, at ferreira@buildforce.ca or 613-569-5552 ext. 2220.

This report was produced with the support and input of a variety of provincial construction and maintenance industry stakeholders. For local industry reaction to this latest BuildForce Canada report, please contact:

Trent Soholt
Executive Director
Nova Scotia Construction Sector Council
902-832-4761

Duncan Williams
President and CEO
Construction Association of Nova Scotia
902-468-2267

Funded by the Government of Canada’s Sectoral Initiatives Program.

La croissance du secteur de la construction de la Nouvelle-Écosse s’accélère


Ottawa – Selon les dernières prévisions sur le marché du travail publiées par ConstruForce Canada aujourd’hui, l’activité de construction et d’entretien en Nouvelle-Écosse devrait augmenter entre 2021 et 2023, stimulée par la forte demande généralisée dans les secteurs résidentiel et non résidentiel de la province.

D’après les prévisions du rapport provincial Regard prospectif – Construction et maintenance 2021-2030 de ConstruForce Canada, l’emploi sectoriel devrait demeurer à des niveaux élevés jusqu’en 2026, avant de reculer pendant la deuxième moitié de la période de prévision. Une augmentation de l’emploi en construction d’environ 10 %, ou 2 600 travailleurs, est attendue au cours des prochaines années, et sera suivie par un léger recul pendant la deuxième moitié de la décennie.

« L’activité de construction en Nouvelle-Écosse n’a été que légèrement ralentie par les répercussions de la COVID-19 en 2020, et les effets négatifs se sont limités en grande partie aux marchés résidentiel et commercial, affirme Bill Ferreira, directeur général de ConstruForce Canada. Une reprise prévue dans le secteur résidentiel, ainsi qu’une augmentation des besoins en main-d’œuvre dans le cadre de nombreux grands projets des secteurs de la santé, de l’éducation, des routes et des ouvrages de génie civil, devraient stimuler grandement l’emploi dans le secteur de la construction en 2021 et en 2022. »

Au cours des dix prochaines années, près de 8 700 travailleurs du secteur de la construction de la Nouvelle-Écosse, ou environ 28 % de la population active de ce secteur en 2020, devraient prendre leur retraite. Compte tenu des tendances antérieures, le secteur de la construction de la province pourrait recruter jusqu’à 5 875 nouveaux venus provenant de la population locale âgée de 30 ans ou moins pendant la même période.

« La population de la Nouvelle-Écosse vieillit, et le secteur de la construction de la province sera confronté à une pénurie d’environ 3 900 travailleurs au cours de la prochaine décennie, explique M. Ferreira. Il importe que le secteur de la construction et de l’entretien s’efforce d’attirer les jeunes maintenant et qu’il se positionne comme un choix de carrière intéressant. »

Le perfectionnement de travailleurs de métier qualifiés dans le secteur de la construction nécessite des années et exige souvent la participation à un programme d’apprentissage provincial. Les nouvelles inscriptions dans les 18 plus grands programmes de métiers de la province ont atteint un sommet de 1 280 inscriptions en 2015, ce qui a entraîné une augmentation de l’offre en travailleurs certifiés. Les inscriptions ont varié au cours des dernières années, demeurant tout de même à environ 900 inscriptions par année.

Selon les prévisions concernant les nouvelles inscriptions et les tendances en matière d’achèvement des programmes d’apprentissage, plusieurs métiers risquent de connaître une pénurie de nouveaux compagnons ayant la formation requise d’ici 2030. Ces métiers comprennent notamment les briqueteurs-maçons, les charpentiers-menuisiers, les techniciens d’équipement lourd, les électriciens industriels, les mécaniciens industriels (mécaniciens de chantier), les conducteurs de grue mobile, les couvreurs, les tuyauteurs et monteurs d’appareils de chauffage, et les soudeurs. Un engagement continu en matière de formation et d’apprentissage demeurera nécessaire pour éviter d’éventuelles pénuries de compétences futures dans le secteur.

La pandémie de COVID-19 a considérablement compliqué les inscriptions à des programmes d’apprentissage et a eu une forte incidence sur les taux de réussite en Nouvelle-Écosse. Les données limitées recueillies à ce jour suggèrent que la pandémie a entraîné une baisse abrupte des nouvelles inscriptions. Elle a également considérablement entravé la formation, les examens et les certifications en classe. Ces répercussions devraient faire diminuer le nombre de nouveaux travailleurs certifiés à court terme.

Pour constituer une population active durable et diversifiée, le secteur de la construction et de l’entretien devra aussi renforcer ses efforts de recrutement auprès de groupes traditionnellement sous-représentés dans sa population active actuelle, notamment les femmes, les Autochtones et les nouveaux Canadiens.

En 2020, environ 3 650 femmes travaillaient dans le secteur de la construction de la Nouvelle-Écosse, dont 26 % étaient en poste directement dans les projets de construction. Or, du total des 27 400 travailleurs de métier travaillant dans le secteur, les femmes ne représentaient que 3,5 %. Les Autochtones représentaient environ 5 % de la population active totale du Canada atlantique, ce qui correspond à la proportion qu’ils occupent au sein de la population active du secteur de la construction. Environ 81 % des travailleurs autochtones du secteur de la construction participent aux activités de construction sur les chantiers, ce qui suggère qu’il serait possible d’accroître leur recrutement dans les métiers du secteur de la construction. La hausse du taux de participation des femmes et des Autochtones aiderait énormément le secteur à satisfaire ses besoins en main-d’œuvre futurs.

Les nouveaux Canadiens représentent à l’heure actuelle environ 3,5 % de la population active de la construction en Nouvelle-Écosse. Les données démographiques de la province pointant vers la diminution du nombre de jeunes travailleurs pouvant se joindre à la population active de la Nouvelle-Écosse au cours des prochaines années, l’immigration va jouer un rôle de plus en plus important dans le développement de la main-d’œuvre future de la province. Pendant la prochaine décennie, la province devrait accueillir 8 000 nouveaux arrivants en moyenne chaque année, de sorte que la population immigrée sera une importante source future de croissance de la population active. La hausse du taux de participation des nouveaux Canadiens dans le secteur sera un élément important afin d’assurer que la population active du secteur de la construction demeure adéquate pour répondre aux besoins de l’économie.

ConstruForce Canada est une organisation nationale menée par le secteur et représentant tous les marchés du secteur de la construction au Canada. Son mandat est de fournir en temps opportun de l’information exacte et des analyses sur le marché du travail, en plus d’offrir des programmes et des initiatives pour faire en sorte que la population active canadienne de la construction et de l’entretien puisse répondre à la demande, renforcer sa capacité et acquérir les compétences requises. Visitez le site www.previsionsconstruction.ca.

Renseignements : Bill Ferreira, directeur général de ConstruForce Canada, par courriel, à ferreira@construforce.ca, ou par téléphone, au 613 569-5552, poste 2220.

Ce rapport a été élaboré avec le soutien et les commentaires de différents intervenants du secteur de la construction et de l’entretien de la province. Pour connaître les réactions du secteur local de la construction à la publication du plus récent rapport de ConstruForce Canada, veuillez communiquer avec les personnes suivantes :

Trent Soholt
Directeur général
Conseil sectoriel de la construction de la Nouvelle-Écosse
902 832-4761

Duncan Williams
Président-directeur général
Construction Association of Nova Scotia
902 468-2267

Financé par le Programme d’appui aux initiatives sectorielles du gouvernement du Canada.